Enter Glinda the Good

Seeing as I totally enjoyed my newfound tandem, which started here, I thought I’d explore it a bit more, as I initially intended to. I know I haven’t been posting useful and insightful (or philosophical, if you prefer that term) posts lately, but rest assured, this isn’t supposed to be simply an amusing mix-in of two worlds/stories. It’s an experiment on views of righteousness, law, life, or whatever issues I like writing about. After all, art is, for me, the best expression of these issues, although not everyone may get it. For the leisurely reader, I hope you don’t get too lost in the fan-fiction-ness. Here we go.

Javert followed Elphaba as she treaded the marshy bogs that separated the Winkie country from Emerald city.

Elphaba: you don’t have to follow me you know. I especially put up this bog right here to make it difficult to cross. And your wounds haven’t recovered yet.

Javert: I’m following you to make sure you don’t chicken out.

Elphaba sighed. Javert turned out to be extremely stubborn, and she didn’t like it. Fiyero trotted after them, picking up loose straws that kept falling from his being.

Fiyero: Elphaba, what exactly are you planning to do in Emerald city? I thought we agreed to keep away from it. Glinda has to keep believing that you’re dead.

Elphaba: Well, I take it back. Maybe it’s better if she knew I was still alive, that way she’d feel guilty about how she’s been running things lately.

After Elphaba’s supposed death, Glinda had tried to keep an organized system of ruling. After all, how hard could it be if the wizard could do it? Unfortunately, Glinda, being Glinda, had stopped being efficient after only a few days. The line outside her newly constructed pink castle which stuck out like a sore thumb in Emerald city, was always long, as she kept herself busy with… other things.

Elphaba: What the-? Well, Javert, looks like you being here is quite fortunate after all. I need you to go over there and find out what’s happening. I can’t be seen by other Ozians.

Javert: Excuse me, pray tell, what is this extremely long line here?

Ozian: Oh, this is shorter than usual, actually. Ms. Glinda is less busy today because Prince Evring of Ev had just left yesterday.

Javert: Prince Evring?

Ozian: yeah… You’re not from here are you? Ms. Glinda, her Goodness, is our leader. She’s been entertaining a lot of people lately though, so she has little time to talk to humble Ozians like us. You might get through though, seeing as you’re not from here.

Javert thanked the Ozian and walked back to where Elphaba and Fiyero were hiding. He explained everything to them.

Elphaba: Prince Evring of Ev? What’s he doing here?

Fiyero: I did hear a rumor that lots of royal people have been coming to Oz lately, mostly the Princes.

Elphaba: I don’t like the sound of this,,.

Suddenly, a giant bubble appeared on top of the castle. Inside it was Glinda, dressed in her sparkly white dress, smiling ever so sweetly.

Glinda: Fellow Ozians, I thank you for airing out your concerns! However, I’m afraid I have more foreign matters to attend to. If you could just-

Glinda’s moving gaze stopped right at the spot where Elphaba was standing. She stared, unable to believe what she was seeing. Fiyero waved.

Elphaba: Fiyero! What are you doing?

Fiyero: What? It’s Glinda, our friend. We wave to friends.

Javert: You brainless git! Now she’s really seen us!

Glinda, having regained her composure, continued charming the Ozians. Elphaba and her companions rushed away.

Elphaba: Well, that was a load of bull! Did you hear her? Foreign matters my hat! Oz has never needed to deal with foreign matters! And even if it did, that’s what the vizier is for! She’s just flirting with the princes!

Javert: So what do you plan to do now?

Elphaba shook her head.

Elphaba: It’s too late, or at least, it’s not the right time. Javert, are you willing to go back to your world? We might find some answers there that will help us prepare for this world.

Javert: One world at a time eh? Well, you know I’m in.

Elphaba decided to let Fiyero stay in Oz, partly because she needed someone to still keep an eye on Oz, partly because he might just be troublesome if he went with them. With that, Elphaba and Javert headed off to the Munchkin river. Little do they know, a flying giant bubble was following them several paces behind…

The above is a work of fan fiction of some sort. I do not claim to own any of the ideas, characters, and trademarks and properties created by the original authors. No, I still haven’t figured out how to do disclaimers yet. For now, I’ll stick with this. Yes, I do plan to continue writing this, as it really interests me. I will try to sneak in some real blog posts in between. Keyword: try. But for now, this is Project Miserably Wicked part 2 (title subject to change) 🙂

Thanks for reading, and Munch On!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

