A Conversation between Javert and Elphaba

Javert awoke, coughing, his whole body aching. He felt like he didn’t want to get up ever again, but the first sight he saw made him sit straight up. A man-like figure made entirely of straw was leaning towards him, head tilted. Javert stared at him, unable to make sense out of the situation. Finally, the straw-man spoke, “Elphie, he’s awake! I think your spell worked. He looks quite alright.”

The next thing Javert saw made him even more confused. A lady (although she hardly looked one), her skin a pale shade of green, wearing a ridiculous pointy hat, appeared. Javert stared, unspeaking, as the lady explained how she found him in the Munchkin river where the Scarecrow (who was apparently named Fiyero) liked to explore. Upon seeing the confused look in Javert’s eyes, she presumed he was from the other world and started telling him about this world as well. His expression slowly began to turn from confused to more interested, so she told him all about the Wizard of Oz, Madame Morrible, and all the treachery she went through, after which Javert shared his own story.

This is a conversation between two very different beings, both driven (or used to be driven) by their sense of justice and right, but different in their methods and other principles.

Javert: I can see you all were miserable as well. Indeed, even the seemingly blessed Glinda, ever-so-perfect in the outward appearance, was fooled by her own belief that she has everything she has ever needed. She somehow reminds me of the young girl taken captive by this man I have been following…

Elphaba: Glinda… Well, she has it all now. What really matters is the present, isn’t it?

Javert: What really matters? I have jumped into the Seine River because of my inner conflict over what really matters. Indeed, I cannot really say now what really matters. Just listening to you right now, hearing how you were suddenly seen as a criminal because you fought for what you thought was right, is leaving me at a loss.

Elphaba: I think you have figured out by now, Mr. Javert, that the law is sometimes gravely wrong. And that, even if you sometimes try to right it, no good deed goes unpunished.

Javert: Is that why you are being wicked? You know a wrong can never right another wrong.

Elphaba: But neither can most rights. I got tired of playing nice. Nice never got me anything but more trouble.

Javert: Hmm… This is mainly because your system is all messed up.

Elphaba: All systems are a bit messed up, Mr. Javert. I have heard many things about your world, and I know for a fact that your system is far from perfect as well.

Javert: That is true… Then we must change it!

Elphaba: How exactly do you propose that? The system is in the hands of the powerful, the populer – I mean, lar – and the outwardly innocent. Meanwhile, people like me are shunned and thought of as wicked.

Javert: Justice always prevails.

Elphaba: That is the biggest load of bull I have ever heard.

Javert: Have you tried fighting the system from the inside?

Elphaba: I can’t even get to the inside. As I have told you, Mr. Javert, people like me tend to be pushed to the outside.

Javert: And people like the, pardon my term, “cutesy” Ms. Glinda are carried by the people to the inside…

Elphaba: Hey, don’t get me wrong, I’m sure she means well, but that’s the most I can say about her.

Javert: Meaning well does not mean anything, Ms. Elphaba. It is the doing that counts.

Elphaba: What about you, then? Why did you let your convict escape? He was very much willing to be brought in again.

Javert: … As I said, my principles of law and morality are very much in conflict right now. The man has shown great acts of kindness and mercy, very much unlike the convict I knew him to be.

Elphaba: Yeah, looks can be deceiving.

Javert: Very deceiving. I lived my whole life believing what I was doing was right, that the law was always on the side of justice, and that Jean Valjean was a criminal who needed to be captured. But I got confused…

Elphaba: so you gave up.

Javert: Well, so did you.

Elphaba: I’ve been through much more than you have Mr. Javert, and I have more reason to give up… but heed my words, I have not yet fully given up. I was not the one who threw myself into a river. As long as I live, I hope. Maybe it is too late for Oz, but it might not be too late for your world. This Valjean gives me hope. People like him should be the ones leading the system.

Javert: Valjean leading the system? I would’ve laughed at you and then thrown you to jail had you said that to me days ago, but now I see that you’re right. But what about your dear Oz? Are you just going to abandon it? I know it might be hypocritical of me to say this but, that seems like an act of cowardice.

Elphaba: You’re right. Our fears, our inner conflicts, and our misplaced trusts have led us to become cowards. You jumped into a river, and I hide away in this wasteland. But it’s never too late, is it?

Javert: I cannot be sure, but yes, I think you’re right.

Elphaba: It seems to me that you were destined to be sent here Mr. Javert. I admit I did not like you or your principles at first. In fact, you could say that I greatly disliked them and was very tempted to just zap you back to the Munchkin river. But throughout the length of this conversation, I saw sense in some of your words. And I am not a coward. I will continue fighting for Oz until it kills me.

Javert: Learn to play by the rules this time, Ms. Elphaba.

Elphaba: Ha! That has never been my strong point, Mr. Javert. I play by the right, not by the rules.

Javert: Well then, at least try working by bent rules. I wish you luck, then.

Elphaba: You as well. And try not to jump into anymore rivers. You’ll give the Ozians a stomachache when they drink from it.

Javert: Noted.

The above is a work of fan fiction of some sort. I do not claim to own any of the ideas, characters, and trademarks and properties created by the original authors. I honestly have no idea how disclaimers are supposed to go, so I guess I have to research on that. Meanwhile, I hope this piece of work amuses a few of you and sends a message to the majority. I would have loved to explore more on the characters of both Elphaba and Javert, and how they would have interacted in a deeper conversation about justice, but that would take too long. This would suffice, I guess.

Munch on!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

